What lies beneath: The deep „dark” side of music

A number of songs have explored the dark, somewhat despairing and psychotic side of the soul, wandering about as it does in the world today. Below you can discover three of the most successful such songs, which are likely to generate deep, if mixed, feelings in any listener. Judge for yourselves.

1994: Hersh Kristin – „Your Ghost” from the album „Hips and Makers”

keywords: quiet, dark, ghost, circling around

„It’s the blaze across my nightgown
It’s the phone’s ring
I think last night (you were in my dreams)
You were driving circles around me”

2002: Damien Rice„Cold Water”, from the album „O”

keywords: cold, Lord can you hear, I am lost

„Cold, cold water surrounds me now

And all I’ve got is your hand

Lord, can you hear me now?

Or am I lost?”

2003: Gary Jules covers Tears for Fears’ single „Mad World”

keywords: mad, pointless, circling around, tearful, worn out, faceless, ignorant of each other

„And I find I kind of funny 
I find it kind of sad 
The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I’ve ever had 
I find it hard to tell you 
I find it hard to take 
When people run in circles its a very very 
Mad world”

 

 

Lasă un răspuns

